Motorcycle Policies & Procedures
Please read these policies carefully, if you have any questions regarding them please call 801‐957‐5200.
Cancellations: Must be made by 4:00 PM on the last business day prior to the day the class starts by calling 801‐957‐5200.
Completion Cards: DO NOT lose the completion card, replacement cards will not be reissued. All graduates who ride the college motorcycle receive a 649cc and under completion card automatically on completion of the Basic Riding Course (BRC). This completion card will allow you to skip the Drivers Licensing Division motorcycle riding test and earn your endorsement of 649cc or lower. The Utah DLD only recognizes the completion card for 6 months after issued date.
For 650cc or larger riders to earn this completion card, you will take the BRC and come back within 3 months to complete the Tiered Licensing 2nd test on your own 650cc+motorcycle. If it has been longer than 3 months, please call (801-957-5200) to discuss a possible exception to this policy. Please bring your proof of insurance, registration, and drivers license. If you cannot furnish your own bike for testing, we do have a 650cc bike to rent for the test. The 650cc bike rental fee is $75 and you must have successfully completed the class on the smaller furnished bikes before you can take the test again on a 650cc+ motorcycle.
Refunds: There will be no refund after the class starts.
Rescheduling: Can be done one time only prior to class start.
Day before the class starts: There is no fee to reschedule for a different date call 801‐957‐5200.
After course starts: There will be a $70 rescheduling fee for students who miss any portion of the class for any reason.
Scooters: You may bring your scooter to ride and test on during class. Scooters must be over 100cc or larger. You are REQUIRED to bring your license, or learner’s permit, proof of insurance, and the scooters registration to each session.
Tiered Licensing: Starting July 2008 Utah will be using a tiered licensing system.
- Test on a 115cc to 249cc will be endorsed for 249cc or less
- Test on a 250cc will be endorsed for a 649cc or less
- Test on a 650cc or larger will be endorsed for all sizes.
Underage Students: Students between the ages of 16 & 17 years are REQUIRED to have a parent present the first day of class. Parents must sign a waiver or the student will not be able to take the class.
Weather Instructions: Please show up to class even if the weather appears to prevent class from taking place. The instructor will be there to give you the class make‐up date and time.
What equipment is required?
You must bring a valid driver’s license. You must also provide appropriate protective clothing for the riding portions of the course. This includes eye protection (glasses and sunglasses are fine), full-fingered gloves, a long-sleeve shirt or jacket, long pants, and Sturdy footwear that cover your ankles, a helmet is mandatory (if you do not have one we have some for use). Please note that these items are mandatory for all riding exercises.
What happens if I miss a class?
If you need to reschedule before class starts, please call 801 957-5200 or 801 957-5278 or email MotorcycleRegistration@slcc.edu at least 24 hours before the beginning of the originally scheduled class. Once class starts, if you miss a subsequent session you are subject to a $75 rescheduling fee assuming you have a legitimate reason and notify us before the start of that session. “No shows” will lose their enrollment fee and be required to pay the full amount for a new class.
Which course is right for me?
The Basic Rider Course (BRC) is perfect for beginners or those who have some prior experience but have not ridden in some time. This is a license waiver course for the skills test at the DLD for your endorsement.
The Returning Rider Basic Rider Course (RRBRC) is for those who are a current motorcycle rider but have never taken a riding course or an endorsement, and those who just want to refresh skills prior to starting to ride after a couples of years away from riding. This is a license waiver course for the skills test at the DLD for your endorsement.
The BRC2 or Experienced Ride Course (ERC) is for those who are currently riding and have their own bike and have ridden recently 1,500 miles or more. This is a license waiver course for the skills test at the DLD for your endorsement.
The Advanced Rider Course (ARC) is designed to enhance a rider’s skills with cornering, braking, swerving, traction management, and overall rider awareness for a safer ride. This course can be ridden on most motorcycles; (choppers are not able to negotiate the exercises).
How long is the e-course for the Basic Rider Course?
You are required to complete the e-course before you attend the in person portion of the Basic Rider Course. The e-course is about five hours long, and you must bring documentation verifying that you completed the e-course to the in person class.
What if I don't have a computer, or internet access, how can I take the e-course?
Salt Lake Community College has multiple locations located throughout the valley that allow students access to computers, and the internet for free. After you have completed the registration process, you can contact our office, and we will help you find an SLCC campus near you. Where you can take the online e-course.
How long is the e-course valid?
The e-course is valid for 30 days after it has been completed. If you have taken the online e-course portion of your class, but need to reschedule the in person portion. Please keep in mind that the e-course is only valid for 30 days.
What classes require the online e-course?
At this time, only individuals registering for Basic Rider Courses and Returning Rider Courses are required to take the online e-course. All students who register for the Basic Rider Course are obligated to complete the e-course before they attend the in person portion of their course.
Can I ride my own motorcycle or scooter?
If you are taking the Basic Rider Course, you generally will use our motorcycles. They are typically around 250cc. These bikes are available in a variety of motorcycle types, such as street, dual sport (road-capable dirt bikes), and cruisers. If you are a scooter rider, you may bring your own scooter if it is 100cc or larger. If you bring your scooter, you must have a valid learner’s permit, proof of current insurance, and a valid registration. Any personal bikes are subject to inspection by the rider coach. If you desire to ride your own bike for class is will be inspected prior to class start but you can. Most instructors will require you to ride our bikes on the first range day then allow you to bring your bike for class on the second range day.
If you are taking a Returning Rider Basic Rider Course, you can ride our bikes or furnish your own. If you bring your own bike make sure to bring with you proof of insurance, your endorsement or learner’s permit, and valid registration. Any personal bikes are subject to inspection by the rider coach.
If you are taking the BRC2 / Experienced Rider Course you will furnish your own motorcycle. There are no restrictions on size or type, but you must have a valid drivers license, insurance, and registration for your bike. Any personal bikes are subject to inspection by the rider coach.
If you are taking the Advanced Rider Course, you will furnish your own motorcycle. There are no restrictions on size or type, but you must have a current motorcycle endorsement or learner’s permit, proof of current insurance, and a valid registration. Any personal bikes are subject to inspection by the rider coach.
If I pass your course, do I still have to take the Driver’s License Division (DLD) test?
If you pass our course we will provide you with a completion card certifying that you have successfully completed the course and a riding skill evaluation. If this card is presented to the DLD within 6 months of completion you will not have to take a riding skill test at the DLD, but you will have to take and pass a written exam.
Can I get directions to the training location?
All training locations are listed here: Training Locations. There is a link to Google Maps below each location to help you find your way.
Required riding gear for class: Each student will be required to have long sturdy pants, long sleeve shirt or jacket, over the ankle foot ware with a flat or nearly flat sole, full fingered gloves, eye protection, and a helmet. (If you do not have a helmet we have some you could borrow.)
Weather Instructions: Please show up to class even if the weather appears to prevent class from taking place. The instructor will be there to give you class make-up instructions.